National Caring Science Affiliates of WCSI

in partnership with Watson Caring Science Center – University of Colorado (WCSC-CU)



To become an National Caring Science Affiliate, an organization must demonstrate deep-rooted and sustainable commitment to integrating caring science within practices and policies, seeking to transform and broaden the notion of health and healing for its staff as well as the patients, families and communities it serves.

Over the past several years, WCSI in partnership with CNO Affiliate leaders, new caring science criteria have been established, validating authentic, whole-person/whole-system caring science practices, research and scholarship.

Become an Affiliate

New organizations and systems are invited to work with Dr. Watson, WCSI and WCSC-CU for special training programs and staff development to meet the latest caring science indicators and criteria to be designated as a National Caring Science Organization.

National Caring Science Affiliates

National Caring Science Affiliates are now in partnership with WCSC-CU for operational alliance designed to sustain the vision, mission, criteria and official designation for National Caring Science Affiliation.

Atlanta VA Medical Center

Atlanta VAMC (Veteran Affairs Medical Center)

Sandy Leake, RN, MSN
Associate Director, Nursing and Patient Care Services and Chief Nursing Officer
1670 Clairmont Road
Decatur, GA 30033
  sandy.leake@va.gov

Baptist Medical Center Jacksonville

Baptist Medical Center Jacksonville

Diane Raines, DNP, RN, NEA-BC
Sr. Vice President & CNO
  diane.raines@bmcjax.com
Peggy McCartt, PhD, RN, CCRN, ARNP
System Director, Professional Practice
  peggy.mccartt@bmcjax.com
800 Prudential Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32207

Memorial Hospital of South Bend

Memorial Hospital of South Bend

exclusive to Watson Caring Science Institute
Beverly Teegarden
Chief Nursing Officer
615 N. Michigan Street
South Bend, IN 46601
  BTeegarden@beaconhealthsystem.org

Brigham and Women's Hospital

Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Mary Lou Etheredge
75 Francis Street
Boston, MA 02115
  metheredge@partners.org

Children’s Hospital Colorado

Children’s Hospital Colorado

Andrea Ferretti MSN, NEA-BC
Interim Chief Nursing Officer
Vice President & Associate Chief Nursing Officer

Network of Care
13123 East 16th Avenue, Box 020
Aurora, CO 80045
  andrea.ferretti@childrenscolorado.org

Einstein Medical Center

Einstein Medical Center

Maryann Malloy, MSN, RNC-NIC, Caritas Coach
Nurse Manager Neonatal Intensive Care Unit
Einstein Healthcare Network
5501 Old York Road, Levy 2 Nsg. Adm.
Philadelphia PA, 19141
  malloym@einstein.edu


Gundersen Lutheran Medical Center

Gundersen Lutheran Medical Center

Beth Smith-Houskamp, PhD, RN
Administrative Chief Operating Officer
Chief Nursing Officer
Gundersen Health System
1900 South Ave.
Mail Stop: H03-006
La Crosse, WI 54601

Jill Blackbourn, RN, Nursing Systems Specialist
Caritas Coach and HeartMath Trainer
Department of Nursing – Gundersen Health Systems
1900 South Ave.
Mailstop HO2-011
La Crosse, WI 54601
  jlblackb@gundersenhealth.org

James A. Haley Veterans’ Hospital – Tampa, Florida

Joann E. Badget
13000 Bruce B. Downs Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33612
  joann.badget@va.gov

nsa-logo-for-print

Kaiser Permanente – Northern California
Patient Care Services and The KP Nurse Scholars Academy

Jim D’Alfonso, MSN, RN, PhD (h.c.), NEA-BC
Executive Director, KP Nurse Scholars Academy
Executive Director, Professional Practice, Leadership Development, & Research
1950 Franklin Street, 19th Floor
Oakland, CA 94612
  Jim.N.D’Alfonso@kp.org

Priscilla Javed, DNP, RN, FACHE
Director, Nursing Professional Practice
  Priscilla.S.Javed@kp.org

Linda Ackerman, MSN, RN
Caring Science Leader
  Linda.Ackerman@kp.org


Stanford Health Care

Stanford Health Care

Grissel Hernandez, RN, BSN, MPH, HNB-BC
Nursing Professional Development Specialist, Caritas Coach
1850 Embarcadero Road, MC 5534
Stanford, CA 94305
  irhernandez@stanfordhealthcare.org

Wendy Foad, MS RN NEA-BC
Interim VP & Chief Nursing Officer
  wfoad@stanfordhealthcare.org

Anita Girard, DNP, RN, CNL, CPHQ, NEA-BC
Director of Nursing Excellence
Magnet Program Director

  agirard@stanfordhealthcare.org

St. John Hospital & Medical Center

Gayle Novack, MA, BSN, RN HNB-BC
Vice President of Nursing
22101 Moross Road
4th Floor Administration
Detroit, MI 48236
  gayle.novack@ascension.org

University of Chihuahua Nursing and Health Science

University of Chihuahua Nursing and Health Science

Dean Eduardo Sias Casas
Universidad Autonoma de Chihuahua
Facultad de Enfermeria y Nutriologia
Av. Escorza No. 900, Zona Centro. CP. 31000
Chihuahua, Chih., México


Washington DC VA Medical Center

Leslie Rowan, MSN/Ed,RN,CNL,CWCN,CFCN
Director Nursing Excellence & Innovation
Washington DC VA Medical Center
50 Irving St NW
Washington DC 20422
  leslie.rowan@va.gov

State Level Caring Science Systems

Craig Hospital*

Honorary Watson Caring Science System
Diane Reinhard DNP, MBA, RN, NE-BC, CRRN
VP Patient Care Services /CNO
3425 S. Clarkson St.
Englewood, CO 80113
  dreinhard@craighospital.org

*Courtesy WCSI –  State Level Status